Thank you! A reflection on the Legions/Tribes community.

Royalty

The Aussie
Just a heads up that this post will be x-posted to a variety of subreddits and other forums. I'll explain why later.

If you are in a rush, don't like long posts or hate sentimentalism, please don't bother reading. I won't be upset.

---

Some of you may know me, others may not.

I'm probably younger than most of you - I'm finishing up high school this year.

As such, I never really got to play any of the original Tribes games.

My first exposure to any game with skiing was Fallen Empire : Legions. I started playing this is 2008, and boy did I have a blast. I was only 11 years old at the time, and as a result I don't remember too much of my FE:L experiences, but I do remember my naive llama grabs and insatiable desire to prove myself.

Instant Action (IA), the creators of FE:L began updating their website for some time (a year or so from memory?) and the game was made unavailable. It later turned out that they would close down, and FE:L was dead until it's revival (in Nov 2010) by BugsPray and the other devs.

The revival, now coined Legions: Overdrive was infectious. Everyone in the small remaining community was bursting with energy, and it was the passion of individuals such as Jordahan, Fixious and SeymourGore which confirmed the reasons I loved Legions.

Despite this enthusiasm, the game was "doomed" from the beginning. The licensing agreement with IA prevented any monetisation, meaning the devs were working voluntarily, and that advertising was limited. Furthermore, the shutdown of IA before Legions: Overdrive was announced meant that the vast majority of the original playerbase was unaware of its existence.