Changes to the Grenade Trail

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lin

After using Masterluso's wonderful blue glow effect for the grenades, I got kinda disappointed at the black smoke coming out of 'em. I'm really new to modding, and i have no idea how to open those .dds/.dts files, so can somebody here help me out with the grenade trails?

Lin

Thanks. I know you've been working on the trail too, so i thought we might as well collab.
it seems to me that _nrm is the info for the explosion, and _lod is the light reflection.
both of the grenade energy files look like glow information for the grenade itself, and thats about all i've got through.

Lin

yup. saw that, but couldn't open it. beat me to the chase with your gimp skills, eh?

Edit: Tried swapping the file out with anything yet? some of those other particle effects look pretty promising. so far as i can judge based on the file name :rolleyes:.
and I got gimp working. the problem now is that the trail is a bunch of dds images displayed over and over again, so if we want to make a solid beam thing we'll need to make it display alot more often

Fixious

Test Lead
yup. saw that, but couldn't open it. beat me to the chase with your gimp skills, eh?

Edit: Tried swapping the file out with anything yet? some of those other particle effects look pretty promising. so far as i can judge based on the file name :rolleyes:.
and I got gimp working. the problem now is that the trail is a bunch of dds images displayed over and over again, so if we want to make a solid beam thing we'll need to make it display alot more often

Yeah, I was afraid that would happen. I wanted to change it to the Tribes grenade trail, which actually uses like 6 or so different images. I did change it to one of the Tribes grenade trails, but there really isn't a huge difference. I also changed the original file to red as a test, which looked alright. But as long as the rate of reproduction can't be changed, I'll probably leave it alone for now.