Question About Game Development

GameDevMich

Honored Hero
Greetings everyone. I started a thread like this on the old IA forums and really enjoyed answering inquiries about game development. For those of you who do not know me, I am a professional game developer. I work at GarageGames, which should be a recognizable name for those who know the history of Legions.

Anyway, feel free to post your questions about game development here. I will do my best to come up with useful information. The more specific the question, the faster the reply. A question like "How do you break into the game industry" will take a bit more time to answer since there is no one way.

Annnnnnnnnnnd GO!

SeymourGore

Flatulent Cherub
What about 'crunch times'? I've read articles describing spouses being upset with companies expecting around the clock hours. Is that pretty commonplace with game development or is it moreso the larger companies trying to rush/push something out for the holidays?

Also, nice to see the revival of this thread, always an interesting read!

Dacil

this will probably help me so much! cause I'm taking an intro to game development class...starts in a week! so hopefully I'll have questions

moronval

Private Tester
If you could go back in time and give yourself advice about the knowledge you now have about game development, what would you say?

GameDevMich

Honored Hero
Are you allowed to wear clothes in game development? I've heard that it's almost a requirement to like being topless. ;)

Looking forward to the thread, the last one was really nice. Thanks for taking the time!